(0) Cart
  • No products in the cart.

Mothboy/Amantra – OHM7103 – 7″ Single



  1. OHM7103A-(Mothboy)Ten_Thousand_Swerves_ 1:30
  2. OHM7103B-Amanthra-G _ C 1:30

The 2018 Ohm Resistance subscription series is a monthly delivery vehicle for 12 exclusive split 7″s spanning 24 artists, accompanied by limited edition prints by 12 visual artists. Conceived as a tribute to the pre-drum & bass beginnings of Ohm Resistance and our roots in the murky world of Dark Hop, it has grown, evolved, and mutated into all things strange and electronic, covering Hip Hop, Techno, Drum & Bass, and delightfully bizarre beats.


The UK’s Simon Smerdon – Mothboy has been with us as a label from the beginning – with his first Mothboy track coming on 1999’s RISE|CONVERGE compilation. A veteran beatmaker with a record collection spanning literal every dusty breakbeat known and unknown, the Moth returns after many years of silence with one of his finest beats to date.

Amantra is French
Limited Edition Print by Yves Huerne


It is easy to use words and phases like Murky, Fogged Out Dub, and Pulsating to describe the most recent Mothboy track, Ten Thousand Swerves. But that would not be enough to get it across how damn good this beat is. Flicker pulse bass, open snare ringing, and from the depths, a reese winds through as it sees fit – monsterpiece.
Amantra has cooked up a most excellent vaporwave take on the dark hop enigma, an resolutely joyous Theme Song, a driving home from the rave in happy haze type selection. An excellent sign off for the first set of 7”s for the series, G & C is a most accurate blend of the Amantra sound across the beat paradigm – we look forward to his Resilient LP on the label coming in the fall.


Ohm Resistance was founded in 1999 by Submerged and M. Gregor Filip. Originally a vinyl-only, drum & bass outlet, in 2006 the label expanded its scope and has released music by prominent, legendary musicians such as Bill Laswell (Method of Defiance), Herbie Hancock, Mick Harris (Scorn, Quoit), Justin K. Broadrick, Pharoah Sanders, end.user and Merzbow. The label has featured breaking electronic acts’ critical beginnings with Black Sun Empire, Counterstrike, Breaker, Infiltrata, Sinthetix, and Ivan Shopov (Balkansky) all recording under the Ohm Resistance banner.



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…